The Indian Air Force (IAF), which just completed its Platinum Jubilee of unwavering patriotism, is a cutting-edge, innovation-driven force known for its commitment to greatness and courage. The IAF is the world’s fourth largest Air Force, with a highly technical and specialized fighting force that protects our skies from invading enemies.

Choosing a career in the Indian Air Force necessitates a will to succeed and a willingness to serve the country with courage and dignity.

A career in the Indian Air Force can be found in one of three branches, each with its own set of sub-branches:

1. Flying Branch

It consists of fighters, helicopters, and transports.

2. Ground Duty (Technical Branch)

This branch of the Indian Air Force consists of mechanical and electronics.

3. Ground Duty (Non- Technical Branch)

This branch consists of administration, education, meteorology, accounts, and logistics.

Here is how you can join the Indian Air Force after 12th

1. The National Defense Academy is the first step

In the months of June and December, the NDA notification is released twice a year. UPSC is the sole organization that administers written exams.

Eligibility: 16 to 19 years of age

Gender– Men Nationality

Nationality– Indian


Passed Intermediate / 10+2 / equivalent examinations in Mathematics, Physics, and English with a minimum aggregate of 50% and a minimum of 50% in English.

OR Passed a three-year diploma course in engineering in any stream from a government-approved polytechnic institute with a minimum of 50% overall and 50% English in a diploma or intermediate/matriculation.

The syllabus includes General Ability Test and Mathematics.

2. Air Force Selection Board

Dehradun, Varanasi, Gandhinagar, and Mysore are all home to the Air Force Selection Board. The purpose of the AFSB is to evaluate an individual’s potential as an officer in the Indian Air Force.

Step 1 is a screening test, and those who pass this stage advance to the next. It consists of two parts: i) an officer intelligence rating test and ii) a picture perception and discussion test.

Stage 2– Psychological examinations, group tests (including mental and physical work), interviews, and the Computerised Pilot Selection System (CPSS) test are all required of all qualifying candidates (only for the flying branch). Psychologists, GTOs, and interviewing policemen will conduct these tasks over the course of five days.

3. Step 3: Medical Checkup

If the Selection Board recommends it, one would be sent to the Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME) in New Delhi or the Institute of Aviation Medicine in Bengaluru for a medical examination.

Subject to being medically fit, an All India Merit List is created based on performance in the written test and AFSB interview.

Candidates for the Indian Air Force must complete a three-year training program at the National Defence Academy. They are Commissioned as Permanent Commission Officers and placed as officers after successfully completing the program.

Also Read: Things You Should Do When A Woman At Work Flirts With Your Man