After a person is confirmed with breast cancer, experts will aim to discover whether the disease has expanded and, if so, how widely it has grown. This is referred to as staging. There are 4 stages of breast cancer ranging from Stage 0 to Stage 4. The tumor’s volume and extent of dissemination are determined by the stage. It aids in determining the severity of the malignancy and the appropriate treatment options.

To determine the stage of breast cancer, doctors employ a range of procedures. Imaging tests such as a CT scan, MRI, ultrasound, and X-ray, as well as blood testing and a sample of the afflicted breast tissue, are all the choices. Breast cancer that is detected in its initial phases has a better prognosis than cancer that is detected afterwards.

Here are the stages of breast cancer.

There are 4 Stages of breast cancer. It is also further sub divided into their subtype.

Stage 0

The malignancy was discovered early on. It began in the milk – producing glands or mammary ducts and has remained intact. Ductal carcinoma in situ is a type of noninvasive breast cancer (DCIS). The abnormal cells have not yet infiltrated the surrounding tissue.

Stage 1

Breast cancer is referred to as aggressive when it has set loose and begun attacking normal tissue at this stage. Stage 1 is split into two parts: 1A and 1B.

Stage 1A

This indicates that the cancer has migrated to the fatty tissue of the breast. The tumour is under 2 cm in diameter.

Stage 1B

It indicates that cancer cells have been identified in a couple of lymph nodes, but only in trace levels. At this point, there is no tumour.

Stage 2

In this stage the cancer has either developed or migrated. Stage 2 is split into two parts: 2A and 2B.

Stage 2A

This indicates that if there is a tumour in the breast, it is still minor. It’s possible that there’s no cancer in the lymph nodes, or that it’s progressed to three or more.

Stage 2B

A stage 2B breast tumour is larger, ranging in diameter from a walnut to a lemon. It could be in one or more lymph nodes.

Stage 3

Although the malignancy has not progressed to the joints or systems, it is regarded as severe and more difficult to treat. Stage 3 is broken down into three parts: 3A, 3B, and 3C.

Stage 3A

This indicates that cancer has been identified in up to 9 lymph nodes that go from your armpit to your collarbone in a loop. Alternatively, it may have migrated to or swollen the lymph nodes pretty deep within your breast. There may be a huge tumour in the breast in many situations, but there may be none in others.

Stage 3B

A tumour has penetrated the rib cage in stage 3B, and cancer has progressed to or burst through the epidermis, as well as to up to nine lymph nodes under the armpit or at the breastbone.

Stage 3C

There may or may not be a tumour in the breast in stage 3C. If there is, it is possible that it has penetrated the rib cage or the mammary skin. It also suggests cancer has grown beyond or beneath your collarbone, or has been identified in 10 or even more lymph nodes.

Stage 4

A stage 4 breast cancer is often known as metastatic breast cancer. The term “metastatic” refers to the fact that the cancer has moved outside the area of the system where it was initially discovered. Lung cancer, brain cancer, liver cancer, and bone cancer are all possible.

Also Read: Tips To Love Self After IBD Diagnosis